THE FOLD > INSPIRE ME > Oh Baby! 4moms Shower Series
Oh Baby! 4moms Shower Series
| |

When we’re hosting or looking to feature a baby shower there are 5 key elements we look for: theme, decor, food + drink, favors, and the cake! One of our favorite themes is modern. We especially love colorful, modern paper decor that makes it easy to create festive DIY elements to bring your party to life.

For our colorful modern theme, we suggest picking your favorite 5 colors to weave throughout the party. Below is an amazing pop-art-themed baby shower we featured from Color Pop Events. For a baby shower, it’s really fun to play with the, “She’s Gonna Pop!” idea. That theme can spur up lots of creative details, such as these confetti crackers. So fun!

 

Photo by Jonica Moore Studio: http://www.jonicamoorestudio.com/

Photo by Jonica Moore Studio: http://www.jonicamoorestudio.com/

 

To find an abundance of party decor, we recommend shopping at Oh Happy Day’s party shop. It’s our one-stop-shop for all your streamers, poms, balloons, and tabletop decor. Below you can see how these simple party decor elements can translate into a photo booth backdrop, tablescape, and dramatic entrance ideas for your shower. The possibilities are endless!

 

 

Photo by Colleen Stepanian: http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/colleen-stepanian/

Photo by Colleen Stepanian: http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/colleen-stepanian/

 

Photo by Anthony and Stork: http://www.anthonyandstork.com/

Photo by Anthony and Stork: http://www.anthonyandstork.com/

Photo by Martin Vielma: http://www.martinfrancovielma.com/

Photo by Martin Vielma: http://www.martinfrancovielma.com/

When it comes to the food and drink we say, keep it simple, playful, and colorful. You can create pops of color with fruit skewers, glassware or color fruit juice. If you’re throwing a spring/summer shower, popsicles are a must! You can also use small letter balloons as signage.

Photo by Scott Clark Photo:  http://scottclarkphoto.com/

Photo by Scott Clark Photo: http://scottclarkphoto.com/

Photo by Abby Jiu Photography: http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/abby-jiu-photography/

Photo by Abby Jiu Photography: http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/abby-jiu-photography/

Photo by Nikki Martinez Photography: http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/nikki-martinez-photography/

Photo by Nikki Martinez Photography: http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/nikki-martinez-photography/

 

Photo by Haley Sheffield: http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/haley-sheffield/

Photo by Haley Sheffield: http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/haley-sheffield/

Photo by Alana Landsberry: http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/alana-landsberry/

Every shower or party wouldn’t be complete without favors. We love the idea of getting your guest involved in a crafty project. These DIY succulent potters would be a perfect activity and *bonus* the mom-to-be could use it for her nursery decor. If DIY favors aren’t your thing, stuffing envelopes with something sweet is always a nice treat for your guest.

Photo by  Jenna Bechtholt Photography: http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/jenna-bechtholt-photography/

Photo by Jenna Bechtholt Photography: http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/jenna-bechtholt-photography/

Photo by Dear Heart Photos: http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/dear-heart-photos/

Photo by Dear Heart Photos: http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/dear-heart-photos/

Last but not least, one of our favorite decor elements at a party is the CAKE! The dessert table at your shower can be the Instagram-worthy moment that gets your guest oohing and ahhing. So go with a bright, colorful cake with accent desserts to complete your modern shower theme.

Photo by Jonica Moore Studio (100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/jonica-moore-studio) + Cake by Nine Cakes (ninecakes.com)

Photo by Jonica Moore Studio (100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/jonica-moore-studio) + Cake by Nine Cakes (ninecakes.com)

Photo by Six Foot Photography (http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/six-foot-photography/) + Cake by Sugar Euphoria (http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/sugar-euphoria/)

Photo by Six Foot Photography (http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/six-foot-photography/) + Cake by Sugar Euphoria (http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/sugar-euphoria/)

Photo by Nikki Martinez Photography (http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/nikki-martinez-photography/) + Cake by Sugar N Sparkle (http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/sugar-n-sparkle/)

Photo by Nikki Martinez Photography (http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/nikki-martinez-photography/) + Cake by Sugar N Sparkle (http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/sugar-n-sparkle/)

Photo by Megan Welker (http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/megan-welker/) + Cake by Hey There, Cupcake! (http://www.heythere-cupcake.com/)

Photo by Megan Welker (http://www.100layercake.com/wedding-ideas/megan-welker/) + Cake by Hey There, Cupcake! (http://www.heythere-cupcake.com/)

We hope our modern take on a baby shower inspires your next party. Don’t forget to pop over to 100 Layer Cakelet for more creative baby shower ideas!

Written by: Jillian Clark of 100 Layer Cakelet, a creative collaboration that celebrates, inspires and facilitates the most special events in life – weddings, birthdays, baby showers, anniversaries, engagements – all the things that make your heart fill with love.